Confessions of an IT – averter

aka how I got over myself

When I was a child I didn’t care very much for Video Games or Movies let alone Personal Computers. I was much happier just running around outside, playing with my friends. When I was a teenager I got interested in fashion, make-up and naturally Boys, so again I did not – like my brother – spend hour after hour in a little room with the curtain closed exploring the world wide web on my very own computer.Now as an adult I was still not interested in learning all that dry and boring computer stuff, but instead I want to get my Bachelor degree and go on to work for an international enterprise. Pretty simple, isn’t it? Do you see the flaw in my plan though? Never in my entire life did I get to know computers, the Internet or Information Technology in general. However in our modern world that’s crucial knowledge! How can one expect to work for a lucrative business without a tinsy bit of know-how in that area?

Unfortunately, till some time ago the gap between my “expertise“ and current technology seemed too wide and huge to overcome, pushing me further away. So these are the confessions of an IT – averter!

Image

Like I said once my interest in technology started to grow I felt like I had missed too much to ever comprehend it. Furthermore my social surrondings were divided into two groups. The computer geeks and the technologically impaired. I was stuck in the latter. The problem with this division is that the barriers are hard to overcome! The geeks seemed to have their own language. Everytime they started talking about technology I felt completely lost and just made myself as small as possible, trying to avoid social embarassement. We technologically impaired on the other hand don’t ever and probably even can’t talk about it. How should we since we don’t know the first thing about IT! In addition every time I took on the task of educating myself I quit after 10 minutes. I mean why does all this technological stuff have to be so excruciatingly boring?! Where’s the fun in that?! What I did not fully realize just back then was that nowadays nothing and no one can survive without some basic knowledge of technology. Especially an enterprise or a company!

A very good example of this is Southwest Airlines. Southwest Airlines offers low prices, an extraordinary customer service, free luggage and direct flights. Sounds pretty good doesn’t it? You would probably book a flight with them.

Image

Still this wasn’t enough and numbers started to decline!

The harsh truth is that they did not keep up with the latest IT trends and soon couldn’t meet the standards and expectations their competitors could. Nevertheless instead of just rolling over and accepting their fate, they took action, hired an IT consulting firm and got their act together. Now they are again one of the most lucrative American airlines.

Still this example shows how dangerous it is to try and avert technology. Over the years, regardless of what type of business or industry, companies have become dependent on technology. So to every other IT averter out there: IT is here to stay and we better learn how to deal with it, especially if you’re planning on working in a company!

After hearing about Southwest Airlines I started thinking about technology and its effect on enterprises. The truth is the necessity for technological knowledge is indisputable! Here are just a few facts I found during my research, which encouraged me to become more pro active.

  •  Integration
    “Enterprises are reliant on technology in all areas of business operations, primarily on research and development, but also on production, shipping and security (as for example security codes).”
  • Efficiency
    These businesses employ the use of technology in order to deliver goods and services in a time-efficient, cost-effective and safe manner.
  • Change Management
    All employees involved in “researching, selecting or implementing enterprise technology” need to understand the elementary principles of emerging technology trends and how they can be utilized to the businesses full advantage.
  • Continuous Innovation
    “Technology is constantly evolving, so first and foremost, we must take it upon ourselves to stay current and become proactive by keeping up with emerging trends and understanding them not only from a technical standpoint, but evaluating them from a strategic standpoint. “Image
  • Globalization
    Businesses that are dispersed all over the world depend on communication technology to stay in touch with one another. Emails and video conferencing have become an important feature of business communication today. “These allow businesses to gain access to a wider market without losing out on their traditional operating areas therefore increasing productivity.” Additionally the company saves on travel expenses.

Now of course technology does not only have positive aspects some economists argue that small scale businesses find it difficult to compete well with large scale businesses online and offline. They do not have unlimited access to the same technology large scale companies have.

In discussion of technology, one contoversial issue has been safety. On the one hand researchers argued that business security is more vulnerable. Businesses are more prone to viruses and if a hacker gains access to the main data base of a company he can directly steal all useful information without having to enter the business. On the other hand some contended that is not the technology that is at fault, but the people who use it. Some researchers have maintained that theft has existed long before technology and safety to the contrary has improved.

But that doesn’t change that it’s sooooo much and soooooo boring“ is what most of you out there are about to say now and what I thought as well but guess what: IT can actually be fun!

Throughout the last few weeks I have gotten to know IT not as some dry technical gibberish but as something connected to fashion or food and even as a language. Think about it, technology is involved in every possible aspect of our lives. Everything we do from cooking, traveling to shopping has something to do with technology! And aren’t HTML and CSS not unlike two universal languages!? They’re spoken all around the world but do not differ in any country. Everyone can understand and speak them with a minimal amount of effort! Isn’t that just beautiful?

Now of course I am no full grown technology expert yet but by thinking about technolgy and especially IT in a different way made me realize that I was wildly exaggerating and just needed a fresh approach!

If you’re interested in learning to speak geek I can only recommend Head First HTML with CSS & XHTML a book by Elisabeth Robson and Eric T Freeman – published by O’Reilly Media, Inc. I got hooked and found it very entertaining! Or do things like “style element” and “designer language” sound boring to you?

Image

And just one last thing to think about if you are still not convinced! Technology creates connectivity with the external world at large and don’t you want to understand as well as be a part of that?Image

About Nicpic

My name is Nicola but I usually go by Nicky. I'm 21 years old and study International Business Management at the HWR in Berlin. Before moving to Berlin I spent a year traveling around Southeast Asia as well as Australia. I am very passionate about different cultures, languages and exploring the world, which is partially due to the fact that I lived in Jakarta, Indonesia for four and a half years. Apart from that I am a huge music fan and love doing all sorts of team sports, whether it's Basketball, Soccer or Volleyball. Fastexposure is my first Blog, which I am really enjoying so far! I try to offer a great variety of topics always with a hint of humour and some personal experiences since I find those stories are easier and more enjoyable to read! Still I hope I can also always offer some interesting new facts. If you have any further questions,input, ideas or would like to be included as a part time Blogger just contact me! Cheers and enjoy our Blog!
This entry was posted in Business, IT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions of an IT – averter

  1. lilmeu says:

    Hey Nicpic!

    Like you, I also cannot understand people who sit all day long in front of the computer. And I am not interested in all that programming stuff as well. Unfortunately (?), I have to get rid of this IT averting during my studies and especially in my later career.
    I was quite anxious about the IT classes in our Bachelor programme but until know, my fear was unnecessary. You do not learn how to programme special software or sit in front of the computer all the time (Thank God!) but you do have to take care in improving your skills. And I think, the HTML stuff we learned last week is more interesting as it seems to be at the beginning. Therefore, I agree with you: IT can be funny and exciting! Unfortunately, I have experienced this maybe too late.

    • Nicpic says:

      Dear Lilmeu,
      first of all thanks a lot for your comment! I think there are a lot of people out, who like is have been avoiding IT for quite some time. Still I do not think that it is too late for us. We just have to take it step by step and not pressure ourselves too much. Since we’re new to this stuff it is completely normal that we don’t understand everything right away, but we will get there eventually if we keep trying!
      Furthermore I am curious to why a lot of people -us included- feel this need to avert IT in the beginning. In the end it is not more difficult than any other subject -let’s say math- isn’t it?! Any ideas?

  2. sushi030 says:

    Hi Nicpci!
    I love the flow of your blog! At the first look it seemed like a lot but once you start reading, you simply can’t stop! Your headline really caught my attention because I can totally identify with it. I really appreciate how you started with two very personal stories – it made me remember my own struggles with IT classes, myspace profiles and how I actually just wanted to avoid all of that!
    Also, I think it is great and important that you still made the transition to hard facts and therefore gave your blog an informative value.
    It’s been real fun to read your blog. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

